Between 3 and 5 pm, I am just a zombie!  I can’t help but wonder, am I the only one?  I get my daughter home from school, my son is usually napping, and I should be getting things done, right?  I mean there’s a pile of laundry to put away, a stack of papers on my counter in need of some attention, toys on the floor, work for my paying gig to get done (I work from home), dishes in the sink, and some dinner prep to do.

But often I struggle to do anything.  I am almost paralyzed by the mounting to-do list that I know I can’t finish. That’s when it sets in… the discontent.  The feeling that I was made for more than this, that I’m not living up to my potential and my life is passing me by with very little to show for it.

Ok, so that might sound a little dramatic, but that time of day is a very dramatic time for me.  It’s the part of the day when the phrase “the years are short but the days are long” is oh so fitting. I mean, if I can look past that list of things that need to be done (the things I’m avoiding) and change my perspective, I’m basically the luckiest girl in the world.

I mean the pile of laundry represents the beautiful children and amazing husband I have the privilege of caring for.  The stack of papers represents the bills that we are fortunate enough to be able to pay.  The toys on the floor are the manifestation of the fun that is had in my home day in and day out.  Paying work that I can do from home?  How many stay at home moms would love that opportunity?  Dishes in the sink are because of full bellies and dinner prep is for the amazing meal we will share in as a family that evening.

I mean, wow!  When I look at it like that I feel like the most ungrateful person who ever walked this earth!  I think that as a young mom today, I often believe the lie that if I haven’t made something of myself professionally by now, I never will.  So much of my life has been lived already and I haven’t achieved any of my own personal dreams.  And the world would have me believe that I should just throw in the towel and accept my fate.

I believe that God says something different.  I believe that He tells me I am doing the most important job of my life, that the work I do right now caring for my family is the work that will impact eternity.  I will never have this much influence over my children ever again.  Soon they won’t want to snuggle with me or play with me.  Soon they won’t want to tell me all about their day and I’ll long to go back to these days.  And so, I pray, “God grant me the strength and energy to get up off this couch and mommy on! Give me the perspective I need to do the work You have given me with a happy and grateful heart.”

Matthew 5:7-9 in The Message Remix says

“You’re blessed when you care. At the moment of being “care-full,’ you find yourselves cared for.”

“You’re blessed when you get your inside world—your mind and heart—put right.  Then you can see God in the outside world.”

“You’re blessed when you can show people how to cooperate instead of compete or fight. That’s when you discover who you really are, and your place in God’s family.”

What a great message for mothers.  When we change our perspective from completing tasks to loving others, we find ourselves loved back, when we change our hearts and mind to focus on God, we see God’s work all around us.  By teaching our children to cooperate and love each other (not an easy task) we find out who we are in Christ and what we are capable of.

So, the next time discontent rears its ugly head, change your perspective, say a little prayer and mommy on!

